About RTAP Oklahoma

The Rural Transit Assistance Program (49 U.S.C. 5311(b)(3)) provides a source of funding to assist in the design and implementation of training and technical assistance projects and other support services tailored to meet the needs of transit operators in non-urbanized areas. 


The mission of the Oklahoma RTAP is to provide greater transportation services for the people of Oklahoma living in non-urbanized areas so that they may have access to services such as health care, shopping, education, recreation, public services and employment by encouraging the maintenance, development, improvement and use of passenger transportation systems.




Sridhar Radhakrishnan

Drug and Alcohol Coordinator



Special Projects Coordinator

(405) 521-4203


The Oklahoma Department of Transportation (ODOT) is responsible for the administration of Federal Section 5311 Program Funds according to Title 730, Chapter 45 of the Oklahoma Administrative Rules. ODOT, as the Governor’s designee with regard to the administration of federally funded programs, is charged with the responsibility of actively pursuing available Section 5311 Program Funds for the development and maintenance of Rural Public Transportation services and to disburse these funds to eligible local transit operators throughout the state of Oklahoma. The responsibility for the administration of these Section 5311 Program funds is vested in ODOT’s Office of Mobility & Public Transit Programs Division. It is the responsibility of the Transit Programs Division to:

  • Distribute Information concerning the Section 5311 Program

  • Provide Technical Assistance

  • Review and Monitor Transportation Programs Contractors who have received Section 5311 Program Funds

  • Submit an Annual Program of Projects to the FTA for approval.

ODOT Office of Mobility & Public Transit Programs Division (ODOT OMPT) contracts annually with University of Oklahoma (OU) to assist in the above responsibilities. ODOT OMPT and OU work jointly to ensure that the provision of the Rural Transit Assistance Program (RTAP) is made available to the twenty Rural Transit Providers in the state of Oklahoma.